Dota Pro Circuit changes coming in 2019

Steven Rondina • August 14, 2018 11:34 pm

The Dota Pro Circuit for the 2018-2019 season is going to look quite different compared to this year’s version, in more ways than anyone was expecting.

Valve officials met with players and staff from the 18 teams in attendance at The International and revealed another new set of changes to the DPC, including a massive change in how teams will qualify for TI9.

As with this year, the 2018-2019 Dota Pro Circuit will be built around qualifying for The International. The number of teams given direct invitations to TI9 through the DPC, however, will be increased from eight to 12.

Teams that don’t make the cut will have the opportunity to earn a spot through regional qualifiers. In a big shakeup from this year, TI9 will have just one qualifying spot each for the six recognized Dota 2 regions.

The other major change is how qualifying points are allocated at each tournament. This year, the top four teams at each DPC event received a number of qualifying points. Next year, more than four teams will receive points at each event, though the exact number has yet to be announced.

These changes will come alongside the previous changes announced in June that included new roster regulations, a new Major and Minor system, and more. The 2018-2019 season begins on September 17 with the qualifiers to the new season’s first Major tournament.


The complete list of teams competing at The International 2021

Steven Rondina • June 14, 2021 5:09 pm

Thorin and Montecristo on the future of Flashpoint, Cloud9, FPX, more

Nick Johnson • April 26, 2020 3:19 pm

Valve may be quitting on Dota 2 esports, but what does that mean?

Steven Rondina • July 5, 2021 4:39 pm

All about the Staff of Homa, the best weapon in Genshin Impact

Kenneth Williams • December 30, 2021 6:02 am

What is the Dota Pro Circuit, and how do DPC leagues work?

Steven Rondina • February 25, 2021 9:18 pm

This was the best and worst of Dota 2 in 2020

Steven Rondina • December 31, 2020 7:06 pm