s1mple, ZywOo, Twistzz, dev1ce among Esports Awards finalists

By Marta Juras


Oct 2, 2019

Reading time: 3 min

The Esports Awards have announced finalists across all categories and opened the public vote.

Finalists for the esports PC player of the year and esports PC rookie of the year awards feature mostly League of Legends and Counter-Strike: Global Offensive players, with more of the rookies playing Fortnite.

Esports PC player of the year finalists

  • Russel “Twistzz” Van Dulken (CSGO)
  • Nicolai “dev1ce” Reedtz (CSGO)
  • Oleksandr “s1mple” Kostyliev (CSGO)
  • Luka “Perkz” Perković (League)
  • Yiliang “Doublelift” Peng (League)
  • Rasmus ‘Caps’ Winther (League)
  • Johan “N0tail” Sundstein (Dota 2)
  • Topias “Topson” Taavitsainen (Dota 2)
  • Niclas “Pengu” Mouritzen (R6: Siege)
  • Matthew “Super” DeLisi (Overwatch)
  • Jay “sinatraa” Won (Overwatch)
  • Kyle “Bugha” Giersdorf (Fortnite)

All of the veteran players from the CSGO scene, Twistzz, dev1ce, and s1mple, have a lot of achievements to be proud of. Just this year, dev1ce took the StarLadder Berlin Major with Astralis, Twistzz won Intel Extreme Masters Chicago and more with Team Liquid, and s1mple took the trophy at StarSeries & i-League CS:GO Season 7 with Natus Vincere.

Nominated League players are all competitors of the ongoing 2019 World Championship. G2 Esports’ Perkz and Caps are representing Europe as the winners of the 2019 LoL European Championship. Doublelift represents North America, playing with the 2019 LoL Championship Series first-seed Team Liquid. 

Given how Worlds 2019 could be considered esports’ most prestigious annual event, the outcome of the championship may well dictate the winner of this award.

Dota 2 players N0tail and Topson make the finalists list as back-to-back winners of The International. The two are members of OG and stand high on top of the list of players with the highest overall prize earnings in esports, each having earned over $5 million playing Dota 2.

Overwatch fans can vote for either sinatraa or super, both members of the World Cup 2019 US national team and the San Francisco Shock, winner of the Overwatch League in Season 2.

The best PC player of the year finalists list is rounded out with the winner of Fortnite World Cup Solo Finals, Bugha, and Six Invitational 2019 winner, G2’s Pengu.

Bugha is also nominated for the rookie award, as he is only 16 years old and has only just started competing this year.

Esports PC rookie of the year finalists

  • Tim “Nemesis” Lipovšek (League)
  • Jere “sergej” Salo (CSGO)
  • Mathieu “ZywOo” Herbaut (CSGO)
  • Fortnite – David “aqua” W. (Fortnite)
  • Kyle “Bugha” Giersdorf (Fortnite)
  • Emil “Nyhrox” Bergquist (Fortnite)
  • Danila “dan” Dontsov (R6: Siege)
  • Yeon-kwan “Nenne” Jeong (Overwatch)

Although mostly competing in the same games as the veteran finalists, the rookie list sees more Fortnite players nominated for the award, including Bugha and Fortnite World Cup duo champions aqua and Nyhrox.

Nominees from the CSGO community are sergej and ZywOo, up-and-coming players with a few trophies between them.

Fnatic’s League player and Worlds 2019 participant Nemesis, Overwatch League player Nenne, and Six Major Raleigh 2019 winner dan are also in the running for the rookie award.

Winners of The Esports Awards will be announced during an awards ceremony on November 16.


CS2 care package

Players hopeful after Valve adds Overwatch to expose CS2 cheaters

Only “trusted” players will be Overwatch investigators. 

By Fariha Bhatti


Apr 26, 2024