The new Street Fighter 6 ranked tiers explained

By Melany Moncada


Jun 7, 2023

Reading time: 2 min

Street Fighter 6 is now available, and it brings new ranked tiers. Log in and get ready to climb through the tiers.

Street Fighter 6 officially came out on June 2, and players are already competing to get the number one rank in the world. On top of a new ranked system, the game adds a new roster of characters and World Tour, an open-world campaign.

Street Fighter 6 tiers

The ranked system is the online competitive space of Street Fighter 6. It allows players to match against opponents of similar skill and climb the ladder. The system implemented in Street Fighter 6 is new to the game, but it is not any different from the system used in most games with a ranked aspect.

Blog post image

There are eight ranks, known as Leagues, with five tiers each. Progress through the tiers is determined by in-game success. Winning means you get league points and advance, losing means you get points deducted.

The ranks on Street Fighter 6 are:

  • Rookie
  • Iron
  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Diamond
  • Platinum
  • Master

What sets the rankings in Street Fighter 6 apart is the fact that it is character specific. This means that you could be a Master Ryu player and Rookie Chun-Li at the same time. The system encourages players to master one character.

When players start the ranking journey with a new character, they get the opportunity to choose their experience level. This option will affect the initial placement and the opponents that players face early in the climb.

Like all ranked systems, players must complete a total of ten placement matches. These matches and their experience level will determine where they start to climb through the rankings. An experienced player in one character might have a better chance of making it to Master in a shorter period of time.

Blog post image

Street Fighter 6 is now available for PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4, Xbox Series X and Series S, Arcade game, and Microsoft Windows.