Skull and Bones beta

How to join the Skull and Bones open beta

By Olivia Richman

|

Feb 8, 2024

Reading time: 2 min

Skull and Bones is finally here, bringing scallywags the seafaring adventure they’ve been anxiously awaiting. If you want to play Skull and Bones, here’s how to join the open beta.

When is the Skull and Bones open beta?

The Skull and Bones open beta is from February 8 to February 11, 2024.

On PC, head to the Epic Games store and find the Free Games section. On the console, go to the Xbox or PlayStation store and search for Skull and Bones.

Here are the official start and end dates for the open beta:

Start:

  • 7 February 2024, 6 pm (PT)
  • 8 February 2024, 3 am (CET)
  • 8 February 2024, 1 pm (AET).

End:

  • 11 February 2024, 2:59 pm (PT)
  • 11 February 2024, 11:59 pm (CET)
  • 12 February 2024, 9:59 am (AET)

How to play the Skull and Bones beta with friends

Want to create a powerful crew for your fleet? You can play the Skull and Bones open beta with friends. Here’s how to add friends to your squad.

The first way is in the game itself. Approach another player while on land, including treasure map locations or outposts. You can also approach a player while sailing by using a spyglass. Then hold the Interact button and select “Send Friend Request.”

You can also use the social menu. Open the text chat box, find who you want to add from the World menu or the Recently Met menu, then select Invite to Group or Send Friend Request. If your friend is already added, go to Groups & Friends to see if they are online and invite them.

Blog post image

Skull and Bones has cross-play. This means you can play the open beta with friends even if they are on a different console.

Will your Skull and Bones progress carry over?

Yes, your open beta progress will carry over to the full game when it releases. There is also cross-progression, meaning you can switch consoles if needed.

During the Skull and Bones beta, you’ll be able to participate in Dynamic Events, including merchant convoys and elite warships, allowing you to experience some intense pirate action while getting your bearings (and sea legs).

How to get Skull and Bones early access

If you enjoy the open beta, you can pre-order the Skull and Bones Premium Edition to play the game three days early. This means you’ll be able to start playing Skull and Bones on February 13.

Skull and Bones will be released officially on February 16, 2024.

Recommended

Error code 10003001 in Helldivers 2: Fixed

It could be an issue on the server end, but here are a few fixes worth trying.

By Fariha Bhatti

|

Feb 21, 2024

Players 2024 review: Overplayed plot saved by a wholesome group of friends

It’s an okay-ish movie to watch on a boring Wednesday night.

By Fariha Bhatti

|

Feb 19, 2024