Call of Duty ranked play

Here is how ranked play will work in Call of Duty: Warzone 2

By Olivia Richman


May 4, 2023

Reading time: 2 min

Call of Duty players have been wondering when ranked mode would arrive ever since Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 and Warzone 2 dropped. And now it’s finally upon the CoD community.

Developers recently gave an official update on the heavily anticipated ranked mode in Warzone 2, and it looks like competitive players won’t have to wait much longer. Here’s everything developers shared ahead of its launch.

When is Warzone 2 ranked play released?

Ranked is coming sooner than fans expected. Activision has confirmed that ranked is arriving on May 10, along with the rest of the Season Three Reloaded update.

Call of Duty: Warzone 2 ranked play gameplay

A blog post came out earlier today that goes into detail about ranked play.

Ranked play will have some variations to its ruleset compared to casual Warzone 2 and Modern Warfare 2 gameplay. Some vehicles will be removed, and new gameplay elements will be added, including multi-circles.

This more competitive take on Call of Duty will have tiers, ranging from Bronze to Iridescent and Top 250, and players will have to climb up the ranks to reach each one. The tier you’re in will be determined by your skill rating. Here’s how your SR is determined after each match.

Here are the performance factors that will help formulate your SR:

  • Placement (e.g., 1st, 2nd, 20th)
  • Kills
  • Assists
  • Kills by your squad

And here is how the exact amount of SR you earn is determined:

  • 21+ Squads Remaining: +5 SR per Elimination/Assist, +2 SR per Squadmate Elimination
  • Three-to-20 Squads Remaining: +7 SR per Elimination/Assist, +3 SR per Squadmate Elimination
  • One-to-three Squads Remaining: +15 SR per Elimination/Assist, +7 SR per Squadmate Elimination

At the end of each season, players will be knocked back to the lowest tier-one division below where they ended the previous season. For example, a Diamond II player will go back to Platinum I. Diamond I will be the highest division a player can start in.

For more information on ranks, skill rating, and rewards, check out the developer blog.

“We cannot wait to have our incredibly dedicated, skilled, motivated, ambitious, passionate, and determined competitive community dive into Ranked Play and begin this journey with all us developers on shaping Warzone 2.0 Competitive Play.


All we know about how CSGO skin gambling became an industry

CSGO skin gambling didn’t come up over night…

By Fariha Bhatti


Jul 18, 2024

WWE icon Rhea Ripley is now a playable Operator in Call of Duty

WWE 2K cover wrestler Rhea Ripley is now making her way into Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 in the...

By Fariha Bhatti


Jul 17, 2024