Rainbow Six Siege ranks

All you need to know about Rainbow Six Siege ranks in 2022

By Fariha Bhatti


Feb 22, 2022

Reading time: 2 min

Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six Siege is a cutthroat shooter with a ranked mode that’s no cakewalk. Here’s everything you need to know about the ranks in Rainbow Six Siege. 

Rainbow Six Siege is one of the most tactical shooters out there. Packed with exciting game modes, 63 operators, and a deadly loadout, Rainbow Six Siege is still criminally underrated in the FPS category. But that doesn’t make it any less competitive. 

Ranking up in Ubisoft’s flagship shooter is a tall order due to a unique ELO system. The game has 23 ranks, so not all players are cut out for the long grind. 

What are all the ranks in Rainbow Six Siege? 

Rainbow Six Siege has seven ranks divided into 23 sub-tiers. Each rank is capped at a certain MMR, after which a player can progress to a new tier. 

The lowest rank is Copper, starting at 1,100 MMR, while Champions feature the world’s leading talent above 5,000 MMR. These are all the ranks in Rainbow Six Seige:

  • Copper I, II, III, IV, V
  • Bronze I, II, III, IV, V
  • Silver I, II, III, IV, V
  • Gold I, II, III
  • Platinum I, II, III
  • Diamond
  • Champions

What is MMR Rainbow Six Siege? 

Blog post image

Rainbow Six Seige employs an algorithm that assembles your wins and losses and then translates them into your Matchmaking Rating (MMR). This numerical skill level displays a rank spanning Bronze to Champion.

Unlike your typical shooters, MMR in Rainbow Six Seige has less to do with individual performance. Players quickly gain ELO by beating a higher-level team. As skilled your opponents are, the higher your gain will be. So, if you’re a Silver player struggling against Bronze, your ELO gain may not be so impressive if you’d defeated a Platinum opponent.

This system challenges players to compete against the best. But, it’s also part of the reason why ranking up is such a tall order. 

What ranks can play together in Rainbow Six Siege? 

Ubisoft changed the MMR disparity from the previous 700 to 1000 to keep smurfs at bay. In 2022, MMR lock prevents ranks greater than 1000 ELO disparity from queuing together. This change generally relates to four to 10 ranks.

So, someone who’s Copper V can play with a Bronze IV friend, but anyone above Silver V will be ineligible to play in this lobby. This change will combat the frustrations of playing with smurfs while ensuring healthy competition in ranked queues. It’ll also help players find fair competition and climb the ladder quicker. 

How to play Ranked in Rainbow Six Seige

In order to play ranked, players must be level 50 or more. Once you’re there, your grind to unlock rank begins. 

Players must play 10 games to showcase their maximum skill level to unlock a rank. These games will help the system find appropriate level badges based on the skill and outcome. If you’ve won most of your games, you should expect a higher rank. Poor performance means your grind will begin from the entry-level grades of Rainbow Six Siege. 


gaming rig

Sweden’s strict gambling regulations and the rise of esports betting

Although there are lots of safe gambling sites out there, it’s important to understand the legal...

By William Davis


Jul 22, 2024