Riot Games announces new Mid-Season Streamathon event

Melany M. May 18, 2020

Riot Games has announced the Mid-Season Streamathon, a global event to celebrate League of Legends and raise funds for COVID-19 relief.

Between May 29 and May 31, League of Legends fans can enjoy the 48-hour event starting on Friday at 5 PM PDT, 7 PM CST. It will be a non-stop broadcast featuring different events with top players from all over the world.

Throughout the weekend, fans can donate to the stream. All proceeds will go to different nonprofits organizations fighting COVID-19 and softening its global impact, such as the ImpactAssets COVID Response Fund and the GlobalGiving Coronavirus Relief Fund. The Riot Games Social Impact Fund will be in charge of distributing the money. So far, Riot has donated $4.5 million globally to different coronavirus relief efforts.

Mid-Season Streamathon Schedule

The Mid-Season Streamathon will include a broad variety of events, starting with a match between 2020 OPL Split 1 champion Legacy Esports and a team of OPL All-Stars.

Mid-Season Cup

The Mid-Season Cup between the LCK and LPL will be part of the event. On Friday at 10 PM PDT, Saturday 12 AM CST fans can enjoy the semifinals. Finals will take place on Sunday at 2 AM PDT, 4 AM CST.7

The teams competing in the Mid-Season Cup are:

Europe and North America join the event

Because of geographical limitations, Europe and North America cannot compete against each other. However, each region is hosting its own set of matches to support the cause.

  • Saturday, 7 AM PDT, 9 AM CST: EU face-off
  • Sunday, 10 AM PDT, 12 PM CST: EU face-off finals
  • Sunday, 2 PM PDT, 4 PM CST: Pro exhibition matches

It’s unclear who will be playing in these matches, but fans can at minimum expect the spring champions from each region, Europe's G2 Esports and North America's Cloud9, to make an appearance.

Fans can catch the action on Riot’s Twitch channel or through LoL Esports’ YouTube channel.