Alliance drops Dota 2 roster after abysmal DPC season

Kenneth Williams • September 30, 2022 10:47 pm

After missing The International and getting relegated to the lower division, the entire Alliance Dota 2 roster is out for 2023.

As of September 30, 2022, Alliance has officially dropped its Dota 2 esports squad. The not-so-unexpected move follows nearly a year straight of embarrassing performances at major events. Alliance is a storied name in Dota 2, winning The International 2013 and competing at the top level until very recently. Alliance intends to eventually sign a new squad, but it will likely wait until after The International 2022 resolves.

Alliance announced the roster dissolution through social media on September 30. In the tweet, the team thanked all the players while stating that the lack of a TI11 berth spurred the decision. This year was the worst in Alliance’s competitive history, with second place in the second DPC tour as the only impressive result. The squad was even relegated to the lower division for the start of the 2023 season. Between poor results and multiple scandals, it’s difficult to call this drop a surprise.

The former Alliance Dota 2 roster consisted of the following players:

  • Nikolay “Nikobaby” Nikolov
  • Aliwi “w33” Omar
  • Yaroslav “Limitless” Parshin
  • Adam “Aramis” Moroz
  • Andrey “Dukalis” Kuropatkin

Alliance to make new Dota 2 roster after The International 2022

In an official statement on the Alliance website, founding member and coach Jonathan “Loda” Berg confirmed that he has plans to bring in a new team to compete in Dota 2. 

The break in the Dota Pro Circuit after TI usually coincides with a massive shuffle. If Loda intends to build a new roster from the ground up, post-TI11 would be the perfect time to strike. Other established orgs like OG have seen great success by pulling talent from ranked matchmaking.

Alliance is one of the oldest esports organizations in Dota 2 with its first official match in early 2013. The organization was the starting point for many iconic names including Gustav “s4” Magnusson and Henrik “AdmiralBulldog” Ahnberg. After winning The International 2013, the five players became the then-richest esports pros in history. They have since been massively eclipsed by more recent TI winners.


The complete list of teams competing at The International 2021

Steven Rondina • June 14, 2021 5:09 pm

The International 2021 qualifier dates, teams, how to watch

Kenneth Williams • June 20, 2021 6:05 am

ESL, DreamHack reveal invitees and format for DPC leagues

Steven Rondina • January 3, 2021 12:10 am

Everything you need to know about the DreamLeague Leipzig Major

Steven Rondina • January 15, 2020 10:15 pm

Valve announces Dota 2 Regional Leagues to start after TI10

Nick Johnson • February 26, 2020 5:04 am

The numbers say these are the top 10 teams in CSGO

Nick Johnson • September 24, 2020 6:44 pm