Winners League Season 2 playoffs schedule and format announced

By Steven Rondina


May 23, 2019

Reading time: 2 min

The Winners League Season 2 playoffs are just around the corner.

Starting in June, teams from the five Winners League Season 2 divisions will begin competing in best-of-three series play in single elimination tournaments for their share of over $46,000 in prize money. The tournaments will run side-by-side and end June 23. Teams are afforded the same scheduling tools during the group stages, but must complete their games within allotted time frames.

For both Invite Divisions, the playoffs begin on June 1 with the first round ending on June 7. The second round opens on June 8, and closes on June 14. From there, the semifinals for the EU division take place on June 15 with the finals happening on June 17. Meanwhile, while the NA semifinals take place on June 16 with the finals taking place on June 18.

The EU Main Division round of 32 begins on June 1 and runs through June 7, with the round of 16 running from June 8-14. The quarterfinals will run from June 15-19 with the semi-finals taking place on June 20. The finals come two days later on June 22. 

The NA Starter Division opens on June 1 with the round of 32 concluding on June 7. The round of 16 picks up on June 8 and ends on June 13. The quarterfinals begin on June 14 and end on the 18. The semifinals begin the next day on June 19, with the finals coming on June 21.

Finally, the EU Starter Division will kick off on June 1 with the round of 64 ending on June 6. June 7 marks the start of the round of 32, which concludes on June 11. The round of 16 picks up on June 12 runs through June 16. The quarterfinals begin on June 17 and end on June 20, with the semifinals taking place the next day on June 21. Winners League Season 2 concludes on June 23 with the EU Starter Division FInals.

The European region is comprised of the Invite, Main, and Starter divisions, while North America is divided into the Invite and Starter divisions. Both Invite divisions are comprised of the 16 teams who survived the respective group stages. Europe’s Main division and North America’s Starter division each include 32 teams, while Europe’s Starter division includes 64.

The prizes for each division are as follows:

Starter Division (NA and EU):
$5,250 Total
1ST – $2,150
2ND – $1,100
3RD-4TH – $500
5TH-8TH – $250

Main Division (EU only):
$6,100 Total
1ST – $2500
2ND – $1200
3RD-4TH – $700
5TH-8TH – $250

Invite Division (NA and EU):
$15,000 total
1ST – $7,000
2ND – $3,000
3RD-4TH – $1,500
5TH-8TH – $500

The competing teams have not yet been determined for the playoffs, with the regular season still wrapping up. A number of notable teams including Lazarus Esports, INTZ Esports, and have already mathematically secured playoff spots. The full list of competitors will soon be finalized, and the initial playoff brackets will be before May 28.