The matches for OWL’s new season are set

By Rebekah Drake


Dec 11, 2018

Reading time: 2 min

The Overwatch League has announced the full schedule for the league’s second season of play.

The schedule was revealed during the league’s official preview show, Watchpoint. The event was hosted on Twitch while the official OWL Twitter later uploaded the schedule for fans to reference.

The first matchup of the league’s new season will take place on February 14 as the London Spitfire and Philadelphia Fusion clash. This will be a rematch of the inaugural grand final  between the defending champions from London and their runners-up from Philadelphia. Quarterfinalists Boston Uprising will face fellow playoff team New York Excelsior in the second match.

The third match of the day will be between Los Angeles Gladiators and Seoul Dynasty, two more teams who performed well during the first season. The fourth and final match of the opening day will be between underdogs Shanghai Dragons, who failed to win a single game during season one, and the debut of Chinese expansion team Hangzhou Spark.

Out of the eight new teams added to the league for the second season, the Hangzhou Spark will be the first to play. The other seven teams will all have played by the end of the third day, with Toronto Defiant, Atlanta Reign, Chengdu Hunters, and Guangzhou Charge premiering on February 15. Paris Eternal, Vancouver Titans and Washington Justice will debut on Saturday 17.

Unlike season one, season two will feature four matches per day instead of three. The change was announced by Overwatch League commissioner Nate Nanzer during the Watchpoint stream. Nanzer also explained that season two will see each of the league’s 20 teams play 28 total matches. The matches will be split over four stages with each stage lasting five weeks.

The All-Star matches that took place after the inaugural season’s finals will now take place between stages two and three. This will create an extended break for players in the middle of the 2019 season.