The International 2021 qualifier dates, teams, how to watch

Kenneth Williams • June 20, 2021 6:05 am

78 teams across Dota 2’s major regions will get one last chance to attend The International 10. The regional qualifiers will decide the final competitors for the largest esports prize pool in history.

Only one team from each major Dota 2 region will earn a spot at the $40 million event. The number of squads competing differs between regions. The start times for each region are staggered to prevent direct overlap, but some matches could take place simultaneously.

  • South America TI10 Qualifier – June 23 to 26
    • NoPing e-sports
    • SG e-sports
    • Infamous
    • Hokori
    • Team Unknown
    • Infinity
    • ex-Crewmates
    • Inverse
    • Omega Gaming
    • Gorillaz-Pride
    • Latam Defenders

NoPing e-sports performed admirably in the second South American DPC season. A 6-1 record earned NoPing a spot at the WePlay AniMajor, though they were quickly knocked out by foreign teams. SG e-sports and Infamous could also make runs, but NoPing is the favorite.

CIS was extremely competitive throughout the year and because of that, it’s difficult to pick a favorite for their International 10 qualifier. AS Monaco Gambit, Natus Vincere, and Team Spirit have all put up excellent recent results, but only one can advance to the main event.

  • North America TI10 Qualifier – June 30 to July 3
    • Undying
    • 4 Zoomers
    • simply TOOBASED
    • sadboys
    • Black N Yellow
    • D2 Hustlers
    • Arkosh Gaming
    • The Cut
    • felt
    • Team DogChamp
    • Electronic Boys
    • 5ManMidas

Undying was in incredible form for BTS Pro Series Season 6, defeating 4 Zoomers in the grand finals with a convincing 3-1. The squad hopes to continue its hot streak at the TI10 qualifier. The North American scene exploded at the start of the DPC and it all led up to this. 

  • Southeast Asia TI10 Qualifier – June 30 to July 3
    • TNC Predator
    • OB Esports X Neon
    • Fnatic
    • Execration
    • BOOM Esports
    • Omega Esports
    • Motivate.Trust Gaming
    • Team SMG
    • Lilgun
    • ex-South Built Esports
    • Galaxy Racer
    • 496 Esports
    • Army Geniuses
    • Team Mystery
    • Cignal Ultra

Southeast Asia will see an absolute bloodbath take place in the TI10 qualifiers. TNC Predator, OB Esports X Neon, Fnatic, Execration, Motivate.Trust Gaming, and BOOM Esports all stand a chance. Lower-billed teams like Cignal Ultra or 496 Esports also have the potential to flip the script.

Chinese teams won both Dota 2 majors this season, earning five total slots for their region. The final spot will likely go to either Elephant or EHOME. Both squads have plenty of star power and experience at The International., but keep an eye on dark horse contender Royal Never Give Up.

  • Europe TI10 Qualifier – July 7 to 10
    • Team Nigma
    • Team Liquid
    • Tundra Esports
    • OG
    • Brame
    • Spider Pigzs
    • Hellbear Smashers
    • Ghost Frogs
    • Team Bald Reborn
    • Into The Breach
    • No Bounty Hunter
    • Chicken Fighters
    • Hippomaniacs

Only two European teams qualified directly to The International 10, so many heavy hitters are left in the qualifier. Team Nigma could be labeled as the favorites due to their strong run in the AniMajor, but OG also looked strong in ESL One Summer 2021. That said, Team Liquid,, and Tundra Esports won’t make it easy for them.

All of the TI10 qualifier competitors gained access by competing in the second Dota Pro Circuit season. Upper division teams also earned DPC points at The Singapore Major and the WePlay AniMajor. Both upper and lower divisions teams are allowed to compete as long as three of their players haven’t changed. The top 12 Dota Pro Circuit ranked teams are automatically invited straight to The International 10.

The International 10 will start on August 5 at the Avicii Arena in Stockholm, Sweden. The matches can be spectated with commentary on the official Dota 2 The International 10 Twitch channel or through the in-game DotaTV client.


TI10 qualifiers brackets and matches have been announced

Steven Rondina • June 13, 2021 6:11 pm

Hokori vs SG Apu League Sunset grand finals betting analysis

Kenneth Williams • March 11, 2022 8:03 pm

The complete list of teams competing at The International 2021

Steven Rondina • June 14, 2021 5:09 pm

DPC champs NoPing booted from South American TI10 qualifiers

Kenneth Williams • June 26, 2021 5:55 pm

Infamous and NoPing play rare repeat drafts in the same series

Neslyn Apduhan • October 10, 2019 11:00 pm

Dota 2 pro rage quits out of key match before WePlay AniMajor

Steven Rondina • May 21, 2021 11:22 pm