The 2021 LPL Spring Split officially starts on January 9

Reading time: 3 min

The first of the four major League of Legends competitions to start up in 2021 is the LPL, as it will kick off on January 9. 

The biggest and arguably most competitive LoL league in the world will be back on fans’ screens from January 9, and the best teams from the Chinese region will battle for the 2021 LPL Spring Split trophy. This was recently announced on Twitter, as it was said that the teams will “take to the arena and fight.” The league begins only a few weeks after the annual Demacia Cup was concluded, where Top Esports came out victorious. 

Like last year, the LPL will consist of two splits with 17 teams competing in total. This is seven teams more than in the three other major leagues, the LEC, LCK, and the LCS. The LPL is known as the most competitive league in the world to many, with a lot of teams capable of making a run for the title.

The teams in the league will likely continue their aggressive styles in 2021, and that’s what made the 2020 LPL season a must-watch for dedicated LoL esports fans. Going into the 2021 split, it will be hard to crown a clear favorite as always. Teams such as Top Esports, Suning, JD Gaming, and others are all looking to chase a first-place finish, and there will without a doubt be upsets along the way. 

On top of the big organizations competing, teams have made some major roster moves in the offseason as well. Recent Worlds participants Suning, JDG, and LGD Gaming have all made drastic roster changes, and only time will tell if they will pay off. The biggest hot topic is defending world champion top laner Jang “Nuguri” Ha-gwon joining FunPlus Phoenix. FPX will be looking to redeem itself in the LPL after a disappointing 2020 season. 

As the LPL returns in just a few days, the English broadcast will once again be available for western fans to check out the competitive league. The first game will kick off on January 9, but the full schedule is yet to be announced. 


What is the LPL?

The League of Legends Pro League, also known as the LPL, is the biggest and best LoL league in China. The league is entering its ninth year in 2021, where the 17 best teams in the region will compete for the domestic trophy. The LPL has been a dominant league on the international stage for years, with LPL teams winning the 2018 and 2019 World Championships. In 2020, the LPL was dethroned by DAMWON Gaming from the South Korean LCK. 

Who are the 2021 LPL teams?

The 17 teams in the LPL for 2021 will mostly be the same as last year, but with a few changes. Dominus Esports has been rebranded and renamed to TT, while FunPlus Phoenix has gone through a rebranding as well, changing its logo. 

The 2021 LPL teams are: 

  • Top Esports
  • Suning
  • LGD Gaming
  • JD Gaming
  • Team WE
  • TT
  • Vici Gaming
  • Victory Five
  • RNG
  • Rogue Warriors
  • OMG
  • LNG Esports
  • Invictus Gaming
  • FunPlus Phoenix
  • eStar
  • EDward Gaming
  • Bilibili Gaming