South Korea reveals Overwatch World Cup roster full of stars

Milo Webb • July 27, 00:32

The Overwatch World Cup’s undefeated champion Team South Korea has revealed its hard-hitting roster for the upcoming tournament.

The 2019 OWWC may be several months away, but South Korea is wasting no time in preparing for the tournament. The team showcased their 12-man roster for this year and it includes some big names from the Overwatch League.

South Korea’s tank lineup includes New York Excelsior’s Dong-gyu “Mano” Kim, San Francisco Shock’s Hyo-bin “ChoiHyoBin” Choi, and Vancouver Titans’ Hyeon-Woo “JJANU” Choi. Each of these players is a valuable addition to the South Korean roster. JJANU is a particularly strong pick for South Korea and is a candidate for this year’s title of OWL MVP.

The team’s damage roster consists of San Francisco Shock’s Minho “Architect” Park, Philadelphia Fusion’s Jae-hyeok “Carpe” Lee, Los Angeles Gladiators’ Gui-un “Decay” Jang, Vancouver Titans’ Hyojong “Haksal” Kim, and New York Excelsior’s Yeon-kwan “Nenne” Jeong. 

Mano and Carpe are the only returning players for Team South Korea. Mano acted as the team’s tank during their overwhelming 4-1 victory against Canada during the 2017 event. Carpe served as a flex support during Korea’s flawless victory versus China last year.

The support mains joining South Korea are no pushovers either. The lineup includes New York Excelsior’s Taesung “Anamo” Jung, London Spitfire’s Seung-tae “Bdosin” Choi, Hangzhou Spark’s Ho-jin “iDK” Park, and Los Angeles Valiant’s Young-seo “KariV” Park. 

Each of these players are some of the best at what they do, but Bdosin is a particularly valuable pick. He is a champion of the first season of OWL and one of the highest-paid players in the whole league.

Team South Korea has crushed the competition at every previous Overwatch World Cup, and with a roster lineup as impressive as this one, it will be tough to topple the reigning champions.

The 2019 OWWC will begin on November 1 during the premiere of this year’s BlizzCon.


All rosters for the 2020 KeSPA Cup have been announced

Christian Vejvad • December 19, 01:42

Vancouver Titans crowned OWL Stage 1 champions after close final

Olivia Richman • March 25, 02:50

Bold predictions for Overwatch League Season 3

Olivia Richman • January 1, 21:11

Overwatch League standings at the end of the regular season

Olivia Richman • September 16, 03:15

San Francisco Shock defeat Vancouver Titans in Stage 2 playoff final

Olivia Richman • May 12, 20:28

Vancouver Titans and San Francisco Shock to compete in OWL Finals

Olivia Richman • March 24, 00:35