Select European theaters to air LoL Worlds 2019 finals

By Marta Juras


Nov 6, 2019

Reading time: 2 min

The 2019 League of Legends World Championship finals are almost here and European fans will have an interesting option for viewing them.

Riot Games’ head of sponsorship and business development for EU esports Alban “Stilgar Fremen” Dechelotte shared that the company has partnered with over 200 cinemas across Europe to bring the finals closer to home for those that can’t attend in Paris. The Worlds 2019 viewing parties are organized in partnership with Mastercard.

“If you can’t make it down to Paris, France to cheer on your favourite team at this year’s World Championship, that’s not a problem at all,” Stilgar shared. “We’ve teamed up with over 200 cinemas all over Europe to run viewing parties for the finals on November 10th, giving you the chance to experience all the action from the Rift on the big screen with local League of Legends fans”

The list of all theaters screening the finals can be found on the LoL in Cinemas website. Unfortunately, no other regions have announced similar plans so fans in North America will have to watch from home.

Fans are excited for the LoL Worlds finals opening ceremony 

In recent years, Riot Games has pulled out all the stops to make the LoL Worlds finals a grandiose occasion. This is especially the case for the opening ceremonies.

From a dragon flying around the arena in 2017, to an augmented reality live concert of virtual band K/DA in 2018, fans are excited to see what has been prepared for the stage this year. With the recent announcement of True Damage as League’s new virtual band, another mash-up concert between digitally rendered champions and the actual singers behind their voices is likely to happen.

There’s a lot to look forward to and these cinema viewing parties should make the event a bit more special for European fans that can’t make the trek to the AccorHotels Arena.

The 2019 LoL Worlds finals will take place on November 10. G2 Esports will take on FunPlus Phoenix for the title of world champion.