New Cloud9 Dota 2 debuts at The Summit 12, full team lineup revealed

Neslyn Apduhan • March 5, 19:44

Team Secret, Cloud9, and Thunder Predator complete the list of participating teams at Dota Summit 12.

The tournament organizer announced the news on Twitter, with the full list of teams currently standing as follows:

Team Secret is looking to build more momentum ahead of ESL One Los Angeles 2020. Europe’s powerhouse team were crowned champions at DreamLeague Season 13 and followed that up by taking second place at WePlay! Tug of War: Mad Moon. Secret’s participation in Dota Summit 12 shows that the team is looking to stay as active as possible after skipping out on the first major of the season.

Fans were surprised to see Cloud9’s participation at the tournament, which will come just a week after its new roster’s formation. Cloud9 returned to Dota 2 after two years away from the scene in January with an international team competing in southeast Asia. However, the team failed in its debut effort in the ESL One Los Angeles 2020 Southeast Asia open qualifier.

Its new roster was short-lived. Cloud9 benched Rolen Andrei Gabriel “Skemberlu” Ong and Cheng “vtFαded” Jia Hao and released Francis “FrancisLee” Lee, then added Jacky “EternaLEnVy” Mao and Jingjun “Sneyking” Wu to its roster. The two players recently departed Fighting Pandas shortly before the StarLadder ImbaTV Minor Season 3. Fighting Pandas filled in the gaps and has since been sponsored by European organization CR4ZY.

Cloud9 was one of Dota 2’s most popular teams from 2014 to 2017, despite disbanding and reforming on multiple occasions. The new Cloud9 brings back a number of the players from those fan favorite rosters.

Fans of both the organization and EteranaLEnVy are no doubt excited to get an early look at the new version of the team. The organization has its sights set on The International 2020, but has just two more major cycles to work with for earning DPC points.

Finally, Thunder Predator had an impressive performance in the ESL One Los Angeles 2020 South America qualifier. The team took the first qualifying spot in the region. Dota Summit 12 will serve as a training ground for most of these teams ahead of ESL One Los Angeles.The non-DPC tournament will run from March 10 to 13, and will be contested at Beyond the Summit’s studio in Los Angeles, California.


WePlay! Tug of War: Mad Moon features 8 top Dota 2 teams

Neslyn Apduhan • February 18, 20:15

The complete list of teams competing at The International 2021

Steven Rondina • June 14, 17:09

Fans love WePlay! as Nigma beats Secret at Tug of War: Mad Moon

Steven Rondina • February 23, 23:12

Evil Geniuses vs. Thunder Predator BTS Pro Series betting analysis

Steven Rondina • April 26, 02:09

Thorin and Montecristo on the future of Flashpoint, Cloud9, FPX, more

Nick Johnson • April 26, 15:19

Everything you need to know about the DreamLeague Leipzig Major

Steven Rondina • January 15, 22:15