LPL gets new schedule for Spring 2020, runs Monday through Sunday

By Melany Moncada


Jan 5, 2020

Reading time: 1 min

The League of Legends Pro League surprised fans with a packed schedule for the 2020 Spring Split.

The 2020 LPL spring season will have games Monday through Sunday for ten weeks. The schedule took many fans by surprise, considering that the LPL used to have one day off in the week.

While the schedule looks packed, the teams will be playing the same amount of games in the season. Every day will have two sets of best-of-three series. The first set will start around 3 a.m. central standard time and the second round starts at 5 a.m. central standard time.

The 2020 LPL spring season starts on January 13 with a clash between Invictus Gaming and FunPlus Phoenix. After the action in week one, the LPL will take a break for seven days and will resume on February 5 with a match between Team WE and 2019 Demacia Cup Champions Royal Never Give Up.

New teams and locations

The LPL is the largest league in the world with seventeen teams competing for the title with eStar as the most recent addition to the league. The team is owned by former Invictus Gaming top laner Liu “PDD” Mou, who also owns LDL team Young Miracles.

In the LDL, Young Miracles is known for developing players that end up becoming LPL stars. Some of the former Young Miracles players are RNG support Shi “Ming” Sen-Ming, jungler Li “XLB” Xiao-Long, and World Championship finals MVP Gao “Tian” Tian-Liang. eStar has only announced one player, former RNG bottom laner Zhang “Wink” Rui, who started for the team in spring 2019.

The packed schedule will include a change of locations for RNG. In the spring, RNG will not be playing from its arena in Beijing but instead will play at the Hongqiao World IE Hub in Shanghai. The team is currently in the process of building a brand new dedicated facility and arena.

The 2020 LPL Spring season kicks off on January 13.