The clock is ticking very quickly for Black Desert Online players in the western world, but there’s still time to guard against deletion.
Pearl Abyss is set to terminate its publishing agreement with Kakao Games in Europe and North America and to begin self-publishing the game in those regions. As a result, PC players are being forced to transfer their Black Desert Online accounts from Kakao Games to Pearl Abyss. If they don’t, they are going to see all of their progress invalidated and their accounts deleted.
Less than 10 days left to transfer your Kakao Games Black Desert Online account!
On May 31, all non-transferred accounts will be deleted permanently and the game data associated with them will be unavailable on Pearl Abyss’s service.
— Play Kakao Games (@playkakaogames) May 21, 2021
Who needs to do this? And how do you do it? Here’s how to transfer your Black Desert Online account.
North American and European Black Desert Online players who use a Kakao Games account are the only ones who need to transfer their Black Desert Online profile to Pearl Abyss. Players in other regions, and those who signed up to play the game through a Pearl Abyss account, do not have to worry about this. Console players also do not need to transfer their accounts, as Pearl Abyss accounts were used to register for console players.
Black Desert Online players from Europe and North America who joined the game in 2020 and played on PC will likely need to transfer from a Kakao Games account to a Pearl Abyss account. If they don’t do so in the near future, their accounts may be deleted permanently.
The process of transferring a previous Black Desert Online account to Pearl Abyss isn’t particularly difficult. Here’s how to do it:
Steam users have a similar process, but will need to use their Steam credentials in place of a Kakao Games account. The good news is that players who do so will get a variety of rewards for doing so including 1,000 Cron Stones, a tier-four Young Pomi pet, and three Weapon Exchange coupons.
⚠️ Transfer is Ending on MAY 31 ⚠️
This means that if you don’t transfer your game data before this date, it will be DELETED forever…! 😱
Anyone that might have not transferred come to mind? If so, please let them know! 😢
➡️Check the event here: https://t.co/XqWQMkUr5G pic.twitter.com/SBVcCqw4Xj
— Black Desert Online PC (@NewsBlackDesert) May 7, 2021
North American and European Black Desert Online players need to transfer their accounts due to a change to the game’s publisher in the regions. Previously, Pearl Abyss published Black Desert Online through Kakao Games on PC, but that changed in late 2020 as Pearl Abyss began self-publishing the game across all platforms.
Because players originally registered to play Black Desert Online through Kakao games, they will now need to transfer their accounts from Kakao Games to Pearl Abyss to continue playing.
Black Desert Online accounts made with Kakao Games will be deleted on May 31. Players who do not transfer their accounts by then may see their accounts permanently deleted.