Valorant ranks in 2022

Here’s all you need to know about Valorant ranks in 2022

By Fariha Bhatti


Feb 1, 2022

Reading time: 2 min

Riot Games has made a ton of changes to Valorant ranks since the game’s initial release in 2020. Here’s a comprehensive guide for new players looking to understand Valorant ranks in 2022.

If you’re new to Valorant, you may be thinking about diving straight into ranked games. Unfortunately, that’s not possible. To unlock ranked play in Valorant, all players must go through a simple process to help Riot accumulate an MMR starting place and place you in suitable games. To begin your grind for competitive games, you may want to know all there is to know about Valorant ranks in 2022. 

What are the ranks in Valorant 2022? 

There are 22 ranks in Valorant divided into eight tiers. Each tier has three ranks, with the first being the highest and the third being the lowest. Radiant is the only rank not to have a sub-rank, as it’s the highest Valorant rank and only a select number of players can reach it. Top Radiant players in each region also get a leaderboard to flex their status.

These are the all the Valorant ranks in 2022:

  • Iron.
  • Iron 2
  • Iron 3
  • Bronze 1
  • Bronze 2
  • Bronze 3
  • Silver 1
  • Silver 2
  • Silver 3
  • Gold 1
  • Gold 2
  • Gold 3
  • Platinum 1
  • Platinum 2
  • Platinum 3 
  • Diamond 1
  • Diamond 2
  • Diamond 3
  • Immortal 1
  • Immortal 2
  • Immortal 3
  • Radiant 
Blog post image

Each sub-rank has a 100 point rating that needs to be achieved in order to move up. This means players need to earn 300 RR to move to the next rank in Valorant. The amount of RR you gain per game depends on individual performance, kills, score disparity, and other factors. For Iron through Diamond ranks, you would go up a rank each time you reach 100RR. That’s not the case for Immortal and Radiant players. To go from Immortal 1 to Immortal 2 and beyond, you’ll have to meet certain regional RR thresholds as you compete with other players in your region.

How to unlock competitive mode in Valorant

Not everyone is eligible to play Valorant ranks. New account owners must learn the game before diving into the competitive mode queues. To unlock ranked queues, all players must be minimum level 20 on Valorant. This requires playing unranked games and learning Valorant’s agents and abilities. After reaching 20, players need to play five ranked placement games to unlock their starting Valorant rank. 

Before Episode 4, players would need to win ten unranked matches to access competitive mode. That’s no longer the case, and the only way to unlock competitive mode is by having the appropriate account level and then playing five placement games. Riot Games changed the rules to ensure that all players understand the basics of the game before entering ranked lobbies.