Fortnite takes BAFTA award at annual game award ceremony

Rebekah Drake • April 6, 2019 7:12 pm

Fortnite has won the title of Best Evolving Game at the BAFTA 2019 Games Awards.

The British award ceremony took place in London and presented a variety of different awards across varied gaming and film categories.

Fortnite won the title after being nominated along with five other games, each with a heavy online component and continual updates that keep fans playing long after the initial release dates. The other five nominees were Overwatch, Destiny 2: Forsaken, Elite Dangerous: Beyond, Sea of Thieves, and Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six Siege.

Overwatch had previously won the award in both 2017 and 2018, so fans of the game were hoping for a third consecutive award win at this year’s ceremony. However, Fortnite, which has been nominated for the category every year since it’s release, took the top spot in 2019.

Along with the nomination for Best Evolving Game, Fortnite was also nominated for EE Mobile Game of the Year. Rather than having the winner chosen by an independent panel of judges, this particular award was chosen by popular vote of the public.

Unfortunately for developer Epic Games and its fans, Fortnite was not able to take home a second award as the mobile title was given by voters to Old School Runescape.

Other categories at the awards included Best Multiplayer, won by EA’s A Way Out, and Best Game, won by Sony’s PlayStation 4 exclusive God of War.

God of War won the most total awards out of any other game at the event, taking home awards in five separate categories.

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts, more commonly known as BAFTA, is a leading independent arts charity. Though initially founded in 1947, the British Academy has only been offering awards to video games for the past 17 years.


Everything to know about the Destiny drama with Bob7, Kaceytron

Olivia Richman • January 18, 2021 8:13 pm

Everything you need to know about Rainbow Six Siege cross-play

Steven Rondina • June 4, 2021 4:11 am

All you need to know about Rainbow Six Siege ranks in 2022

Fariha Bhatti • February 22, 2022 1:20 pm

Esports winners at 2019 Game Awards include Bugha and G2 Esports

Olivia Richman • December 13, 2019 5:00 pm

A full guide to Rainbow Six Extraction’s January 2022 release

Kenneth Williams • January 4, 2022 12:48 pm

Are Rainbow Six Siege operators free? Only for extreme grinders

Kenneth Williams • November 11, 2021 12:14 am