First DPC Major arrives in Kuala Lumpur

By Steven Rondina


Sep 5, 2018

Reading time: 1 min

The 2018-2019 Dota Pro Circuit season starts in just a few weeks, and it is now officially known when and where the first Major will take place.

According to Wykrhm Reddy, the first Major of the DPC season will be taking place in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The event will be hosted by PGL and will begin on November 16. The build to the tournament, however, will start on September 10 with open qualifiers in most regions.

16 teams will compete at the event for a slice of the $1 million prize pool. As with other DPC events this year, there will be no direct invites given. All teams must fight for one of 16 spots through regional qualifiers. The final qualified team will be determined through a separate Minor event. No details on that have yet been released.

The 2018-2019 Dota Pro Circuit will be a much leaner affair than the previous installment. While the 2017-2018 season featured over 20 tournaments, this year will feature just 10; five Minors and five Majors.

Because of the light schedule, the expectation heading into the Kuala Lumpur Major is that every noteworthy team from each region will be competing.

New teams are still forming, however, and the official deadline to register teams with Valve is September 15, five days after the beginning of open qualifiers. That is likely to result in some grief for open qualifier squads with incomplete rosters.

Regardless of the quick turnaround time, look for most teams to get their affairs in order and begin their return to competitive Dota 2.