Esports Awards sees G2 Esports, Team Secret stand tall

By Steven Rondina


Nov 22, 2020

Reading time: 3 min

The 2020 Esports Awards are done and dusted, with the full list of winners standing as follows:

  • Esports Game of the Year- League of Legends
  • Content Creator of the Year- UpUpDownDown
  • Coverage Website of the Year- The Esports Observer
  • Supporting Agency of the Year- CSA
  • Publisher of the Year- Riot Games
  • Play of the Year- İsmailcan “XANTARES” Dörtkardeş
  • Mobile Game of the Year- Freefire
  • Creative Team of the Year- Paper Crowns
  • Journalist of the Year- Emily Rand
  • Content Team of the Year- LEC
  • Mobile Player of the Year- Made Bagas “Zuxxy” Pramudita
  • Color Caster of the Year- Michael “KiXSTAr” Stockley 
  • Play-by-Play Caster of the Year- Clayton “CaptainFlowers” Raines
  • Host of the Year- Eefje “Sjokz” Depoortere
  • PC Rookie of the Year- Ryu “Keria” Min-seok
  • Console Rookie of the Year- Anthony “Shotzzy” Cuevas-Castro
  • PC Player of the Year- Michał “Nisha” Jankowski
  • Console Player of the Year- Anthony “Shotzzy” Cuevas-Castro
  • Team of the Year- Team Secret Dota 2
  • Personality of the Year- Carlos Rodriguez
  • Organization of the Year- G2 Esports
  • Streamer of the Year- Ibai Llanos

It was a good night for a number of different entities in the esports industry, but the two biggest winners of the night were G2 Esports and Team Secret. Those two organizations picked up most of the top prizes of the Esports Awards, and for good reason.

Team Secret wins Team of the Year at Esports Awards 2020

The PC Player of the Year award went to Nisha, while the Team of the Year award went to Team Secret. Anyone that keeps an eye on Dota 2 knows this is well deserved.

Team Secret has posted an historically excellent 2020 despite Dota 2 being devastated by the ongoing global health situation. While there hasn’t been a Dota 2 major since January and The International 10 was canceled, Secret has pulled in trophy after trophy by staying active in online regional events. Along the way, Secret won eight straight tournaments despite competing in the deepest region in Dota 2.

Nisha has established himself as the best Dota 2 player in the world during this time. The Polish core has been crushing the competition since becoming Secret’s go-to mid lane. He even shined while competing on an all-star team. 

That’s not all, either. Secret coach Lee “Heen” Seung Gon won 2020 Coach of the Year. Heen was a big part of Secret breaking out in 2020, joining in late 2019 to replace Lee “SunBhie” Jeong-jae. Though SunBhie had been a part of Secret for years, Heen stepped in and helped Secret go from elite in 2019 to unstoppable in 2020. 

G2 Esports wins Organization fo the Year Esports Awards 2020

Though Team Secret was the best individual team, G2 Esports was dubbed the Organization of the Year at the 2020 Esports Awards. This stems from enjoying serious success across a number of different esports titles. 

G2 Esports’ Counter-Strike and League of Legends squads were both a steady presence in the news cycle as G2 returned to elite status in CSGO and dominated European LoL. G2 has also established itself as Europe’s best Valorant team and posted a strong year in Rocket League.

Though the name of the event is technically “The Esports Awards,” it also has a number of other esports-adjacent categories. Personality of the Year was won by G2 Esports CEO Carlos “ocelote” Rodríguez Santiagos.

Who is the Esports Awards 2020 Streamer of the Year?

Streamer of the Year was won by G2 Esports-sponsored streamer Ibai Llanos. The Spanish-language streamer has dabbled in the esports industry in a number of different ways in the past, including as a League of Legends caster.

Ibai’s winning Streamer of the Year capped a very strong showing for G2 Esports at the 2020 Esports Awards. The organization beat out other candidates including Team Liquid, Team SoloMid, and 100 Thieves.