Esports Awards announces first finalists and new location

Marta Juras • July 11, 2019 9:25 pm

The fourth annual Esports Awards will take place in Arlington, Texas, and will be open for the public to attend. The finalists for the community awards have now been announced.

The Esports Awards 2019 will be welcoming fans to attend the awards ceremony for the first time on November 16. The awards are moving from London to Arlington, where they have partnered up with The Esports Stadium Arlington. The Esports Stadium Arlington is a facility built specifically for esports with the goal of becoming a central hub for esports events in North America.

The city of Arlington will be The Esports Awards’ destination partner and will be sponsoring the individuals chosen as the esports personality of the year and streamer of the year to support esports’ growth, particularly in the state of Texas.

Fans nominate individuals or organizations in community, industry, and professional categories. A selection of nominees are picked as the finalists, and fans vote on the winners from there. While the industry and pro categories’ nominations are still open, community finalists have already been announced.

The community category includes different awards for which the finalists have been nominated: content creator of the year, esports breakthrough game of the year, esports cosplayer of the year, esports personality of the year, esports photographer of the year, esports videographer of the year, and streamer of the year.

The finalists include some big names from around the esports industry.

Popular battle royale player and streamer Tyler “Ninja” Blevins has been chosen as a finalist for two titles, esports personality of the year and streamer of the year.

Other large Twitch names have also made the streamers list, including Turner “Tfue” Tenney, Guy “Dr DisRespect” Beahm, and Imane “Pokimane” Anys.

Eefje “sjokz” Depoortere, who gained her popularity as a desk host for Riot Games, and Carlos “ocelote” Rodríguez Santiago, the founder of G2 Esports, are alongside Ninja among the biggest names on the esports personality of the year list.

Apex Legends, PUBG Mobile, and Super Smash Bros. Ultimate are examples of the finalists for the esports breakthrough game of the year award.


How to buy tickets for the Dota 2 Arlington Major

Kenneth Williams • May 23, 2022 6:47 pm

These are the biggest esports arenas in the world

Olivia Richman • September 29, 2019 10:44 pm

$500,000 Dota 2 Arlington Texas Major announced for August

Kenneth Williams • March 17, 2022 12:21 pm

Astralis and Team Liquid the big favorites at ECS Season 8 Finals

Nick Johnson • November 28, 2019 6:00 pm

s1mple, ZywOo, Twistzz, dev1ce among Esports Awards finalists

Marta Juras • October 2, 2019 10:57 pm

LCS Spring Finals head to Frisco in surprise announcement

Olivia Richman • January 25, 2020 10:30 pm