Date, start times for each stage of LoL Worlds 2022 revealed

Lee Jones • September 15, 2022 2:56 pm

Developer Riot Games has announced the schedule for the upcoming 2022 World Championship, this year the start times for Worlds 2022 are tailored to local viewers rather than international fans.

The tournament begins, as usual, with the Play-In stage. The round robin runs from September 29 to October 2 and each day will start at 3 p.m. CDT or 1 p.m. PDT. This will be a late 10 p.m. CEST for those watching in Europe and a very early 5 a.m. KST the following day for Korean fans. Play-In knockouts are to be played out afterward on October 3 and 4, starting two hours earlier than the groups at 1 p.m. CDT or 11 a.m. PDT for American audiences, and 8 p.m. CEST and 3 a.m. KST.

Next up is the group stage which is completed over two periods. The first, from October 7-10, will see each set of games starting at 5 p.m. EDT, 2 p.m. PDT, 10 p.m. CEST, or 6 a.m. KST. After a few days’ rest, the second set runs from October 13-16 beginning at 3 p.m. EDT, 12 p.m. PDT, 9 p.m. CEST, or 4 a.m. KST each day.

LoL Worlds 2022 playoffs date, start times

A few days later will see the start of the quarterfinals, which from October 20-23. A single best-of-five series will be out each day and all will begin at 5 p.m. EDT  2 p.m. PDT, 11 p.m. CEST, or 6 a.m. KST. 

The semifinals are held the following weekend, once again with a single series each day. Matches on Saturday, October 29 will start at 5 p.m. EST, 2 p.m. PDT, 11 p.m. CEST, or 6 a.m. KST, and Sunday’s games will also start at the same time for most fans. For Europeans, however, the Sunday series will begin an hour earlier at 10 p.m. due to the daylight savings time change.

The tournament will then come to a close the following Saturday, November 5, to crown the latest League of Legends World Champion. The final series of the competitive season kicks off at 5 p.m. PDT, 1 a.m. CEST, or 9 a.m. KST.

article-img

Worlds 2020 playoffs schedule

lol
Christian Vejvad • October 11, 2020 2:51 pm
article-img

Clutch, Splyce among teams in LoL Worlds 2019 play-in stage

lol
Melany Moncav • September 20, 2019 10:30 pm
article-img

The operator finally gets nerfed, but not everyone agrees

Olivia Richman • September 29, 2020 4:04 pm
article-img

G2 Esports, SKT, Liquid among teams in LoL Worlds 2019 main event

lol
Melany Moncav • September 24, 2019 12:00 pm
article-img

LoL Worlds 2019 group stage Pick’em predictions

lol
Melany Moncav • October 8, 2019 9:38 pm
article-img

Riot announces 2021 World Championship format

lol
Olivia Richman • September 16, 2021 9:19 am