Cloud9, Overwatch, and Fortnite win at The Game Awards

Rebekah Drake • December 10, 15:00

Overwatch, Fortnite, and League of Legends were among the big winners at the 2018 Game Awards.

The Game Awards is the largest annual game awards ceremony in the video game industry. A panel of more than 60 experts nominated over 100 games for various awards, including multiple esports titles.

Blizzard’s FPS Overwatch was named “Esports Game of the Year” after being nominated alongside Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, Dota 2, Fortnite, and League of Legends. This was the only award offered to Overwatch during the 2018 celebrations, though it was nominated in other categories including “Best Ongoing Game.”

The Overwatch League esports competition was nominated for “Best Esports Event” for its debut season, and the OWL champions at London Spitfire were nominated for “Best Esports Team.” The Spitfire lost this title to sister team Cloud9 in League of Legends, who were rewarded for their big comeback season in the summer that culminated in a semifinal run at the 2018 World Championship. Riot’s World Championship also won the title of “Best Esports Event.”

Epic Games’ Fortnite was honoured with the title of “Best Multiplayer Game,” having been nominated against titles such as Destiny 2: Forsaken, Call of Duty: Black Ops 4, Monster Hunter: World, and Sea of Thieves. Fortnite also won “Best Ongoing Game,” beating both Destiny 2 and Overwatch for the distinction.

Fortnite was nominated for two more awards, including the previously mentioned “Best Esports Game” and the title of “Best Mobile Game.” Battle royale competitor PUBG Mobile was also nominated for the mobile award, but both titles ultimately lost to Annapurna Interactive’s story-driven game Florence.


Esports winners at 2019 Game Awards include Bugha and G2 Esports

Olivia Richman • December 13, 17:00

Boost your CSGO FPS with these NVIDIA Control Panel settings

Nick Johnson • March 19, 10:41

Apex Legends and other esports take over The Game Awards

Olivia Richman • December 8, 11:00

Fortnite takes BAFTA award at annual game award ceremony

Rebekah Drake • April 6, 19:12

Everything you need to know about how to bet on esports

Steven Rondina • November 19, 20:00

Thorin and Montecristo on the future of Flashpoint, Cloud9, FPX, more

Nick Johnson • April 26, 15:19