Astralis, s1mple, Ninja among Esports Awards winners

By Melany Moncada


Nov 29, 2018

Reading time: 1 min

Fortnite, Astralis, and Fnatic’s Gabriël “Bwipo” Rau were all among the winners at the Esports Awards 2018.

The Esports Awards were back for a third edition of the event. The ceremony was held in London to celebrate the most outstanding members of the esports industry with 22 awards.

Winners in each category were chosen with 25% of the votes coming from the community and 75% from the event’s official voting panel. This year, the Esports Awards reported 3.3 million votes from fans.

Fnatic League of Legends player Bwipo won “Esports PC Rookie of the Year” after a remarkable year with the top League organization in Europe.

Counter-Strike player Oleksandr “s1mple” Kostyliev was named “Esports PC Player of the Year,” while FIFA eWorld Champion Mosaad “Msdossary” Aldossary received the title of “Esports Console Player of the Year.”

Fortnite was named “Esports Breakthrough Game of the Year,” and famed Fortnite player Tyler “Ninja” Blevins received two awards: “Streamer of the Year” and “Esports Personality of the Year.”

Blizzard was one of the biggest winners of the night with three awards of their own. “Esports Publisher of the Year” went to Blizzard, “Esports Game of the Year” was claimed by Blizzard title Overwatch, and “Esports Live Event of the Year” went to the Overwatch League grand final.

Danish organization Astralis won “Esports Team of the Year” for its renowned Counter-Strike: Global Offensive squad. Astralis recently finished in first place at IEM Chicago and are the reigning major champions.

North American organization Cloud9 won “Esports Organization of the Year” after a remarkable 2018 that includes titles in Rocket League, Overwatch, and CS:GO.