All of the games in the Dark Pictures Anthology explained

By Melany Moncada


Nov 12, 2022

Reading time: 2 min

Season one of The Dark Pictures Anthology is coming to an end with the release of The Devil in Me on November 18. In case you need a refresher, here is everything you need to know about the games in The Dark Pictures Anthology.

Developed by Supermassive Games, The Dark Pictures Anthology is a series of interactive drama survival horror video games. The Devil in Me is the fourth installment in the eight-part series with the potential for another additional six in the future. A VR spin-off has been announced for 2023.

The gameplay is the same in all the titles, where players control characters from a third-person perspective. Players choose between dialogues and actions that influence the narrative of the game. The games have two multiplayer modes. Multiplayer allows up to five players to each take control of a character, and only one controller is needed. The co-op mode allows two players to play online.

The Dark Pictures Anthology: Man of Medan is the first game in the series, released in 2019. In 2022, it became available for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X/S. The game follows the story of four college students and the ship captain that takes them on a diving trip. The group is intercepted by pirates that force them to sail looking for Manchurian Gold. They find a ghost ship where the visions of phantom creatures start.

The Dark Pictures Anthology: Little Hope is the story of a group of students and their professor as they go on a road trip. The bus crashes and they are forced to visit a ghost town called Little Hope. The bus driver goes missing and the group explores the town looking for help. The story has twists and turns that include arson and a doppelganger. Little Hope came out in October 2020.

Blog post image

The Dark Pictures Anthology: House of Ashes, released in 2021, takes place in Iraq. The group consists of Force Recon Marines, CIA officers, and two Iraqi Republican Guard soldiers. After a failed ambush, the group falls inside a temple full of vampiric creatures. The temple is the site of a British 1940s archeological expedition, where all members died at the hands of the monsters. In the present time, the characters try to escape the temple alive, but not everyone will make it to the surface.

The Dark Pictures Anthology: The Devil in Me is the fourth game in the series, it comes out on November 18. No details about the plot are available at the moment.

Are The Dark Pictures Anthology games connected?

The games in The Dark Pictures Anthology are linked through a narrator known as The Curator. This character has fragments of the stories and asks for the player’s help to complete them. The games are standalone, so it is not necessary to play them in any particular order. The Curator is played by English actor Pip Torrens.


Furnace Golem guide

How to beat Furnace Golems in Elden Ring: Shadow of Erdtree

These tough minibosses have great rewards.

By Olivia Richman


Jun 21, 2024

How to beat Radahn in Elden Ring to start DLC

You need to beat Radahn to be able to play the DLC!

By Nicholas James


Jun 21, 2024

This is how to get to Mohg, Lord of Blood in Elden Ring

Here’s how to beat Mohg and start Elden Ring DLC.

By Nicholas James


Jun 21, 2024