Valorant gets a new fast-paced Escalation mode

Riot Games' shooter is all set to get its first limited-time mode (LTM) Escalation, starting from February 17th. 

Valorant is still a relatively new game in terms of esports. However, a growing number of tournaments in the form of Valorant challengers series, First Strike, and many more have added a competitive finish to the game. Almost a year after its release, the game has evolved into a cutting esports that requires your full attention. This new update adds a fun twist to Valorant's somewhat competitive modes. 

Riot's tactical shooter currently has ranked, unranked, deathmatch, and spike rush mode. The new addition is dubbed as the escalation mode, which comes with a fast-paced play. 

The new model lives up to the name, allowing players to practice a swift use of different weapons. Much like deathmatch, the new mode is devoid of all pro tactics and requires pure aim and agility. 

Here's how the Valorant Escalation mode works

The players will be split into a group of five, precisely like in ranked mode. Instead of a 13 round win, the game will be divided into 12 escalation levels, each level with a different weapon or a challenge/ability. The team to surpass all levels within the span of 10 minutes takes away the winning points. 

To jump through the levels, the team must earn seven points collectively. To contribute to team points, a player must bag at least one kill to move on to the next weapon or ability, ultimately gaining more points. However, being stuck on one weapon won't hinder team progress. The team can still advance Escalation levels if you're on an older weapon. 

"Your team can be level 4 but you can still be 'stuck' with the level 1 weapon (let's say the Vandal), until you get one kill with that weapon. Then you'll progress to the level 2 weapon, not directly to level 4," comms associate Jeff Landa said

The new mode will be exciting for Valorant players who love a challenge. Instead of levels becoming easier, the game offers a tricker weapon as the rounds escalate. For example, if you started the second level with phantom, the game may spawn you with Spectre in the next level. 

Partaking in this mode will get you 800 XP for each completed match, add an extra 200 XP when you win a game. The Escalation mode begins from February 17th and will be available for a limited time. The developers haven't revealed the end date for the mode but it may leave the game with Act 2. 

Valorant revamping rank system, adding leaderboards in Episode 2


Jessica Scharnagle Jan 11, 19:01

Valorant's ranked system is getting a complete revamp, and leaderboards are coming in Episode 2 which starts January 12. Along with a new Agent, some balance changes, and weapon updates, Valorant...

Riot teases new upcoming Valorant agent with mysterious image


Olivia Richman Dec 12, 04:15

Riot has officially teased the 14th agent for popular tactical shooter Valorant. Riot uploaded three new wallpapers to the Valorant media page that showed the silhouette of an unknown agent. Even...

Snowball Fight Deathmatch brings holiday spirit to Valorant


Olivia Richman Dec 08, 21:29

"Ready to have a Snowball Fight with your friends (and likely your foes)?" Every time the holiday season rolls around, most major competitive games try to have some fun with the winter spirit in...

Valorant patch 1.03 adds surrender options, buffs Guardian


Olivia Richman Jul 08, 19:22

Valorant developers have dropped the 1.03 patch notes after successfully implementing ranked mode into Riot's new first-person shooter. As the game's ranked queue continues to stabilize, developers...

PUBG getting Team Deathmatch game mode in upcoming update

No dedicated page for this category

Olivia Richman Feb 14, 01:30

PlayerUnknown's Battleground's 6.2 update is bringing Team Deathmatch to PC and console. On February 19, players will be introduced to team deathmatch, the first arcade-style game mode to be...