Finland and South Korea Qualify For the OWWC Finals

The Overwatch World Cup has kicked off with the first Group Stage in Incheon, South Korea.

Team South Korea looked dominant on its home turf, taking the top seed in their group. Team Finland secured the second seed behind strong performances from DPS duo Timo “Taimou” Kettunen and Jiri “Linkzr” Masalin.

Team South Korea was the expected favorite of the group, and may be the leading favorite in the whole tournament.  Team Finland looked poised to get out of the qualifying group as well, but not before Team Russia put up a valiant fight.

Russian DPS duo Stanislov “Mistakes” Danilov and George “ShaDowBurn” Gushcha turned the group into a three-team race before falling just short on the final day of competition.

South Korea and Finland will next be seen at BlizzCon 2018 in Anaheim, California. These are the first two teams in what will be an eight-team bracket at the 2018 Overwatch World Cup Finals. The World Cup finals will take place during the weekend of BlizzCon at the event.

The remaining teams to join South Korea and Finland will be decided during the three remaining group stages in the Overwatch World Cup. The locations for these group stages will be Burbank, Bangkok, and Paris.

South Korea reveals Overwatch World Cup roster full of stars


Milo Webb Jul 27, 00:32

The Overwatch World Cup’s undefeated champion Team South Korea has revealed its hard-hitting roster for the upcoming tournament. The 2019 OWWC may be several months away, but South Korea is wasting...

Bischu, Fragi, and Kyb find new homes in Overwatch League shuffle


Jessica Scharnagle Jul 17, 21:00

Professional Overwatch players Joona “Fragi” Laine, Hyung-seok "Bischu" Kim, and Finley “Kyb” Adisi have been announced on Twitter to be moving teams. The Philadelphia Fusion have traded Fragi to...

Fusion support Elk turns down Team USA ahead of World Cup


Hunter Cooke Jun 20, 20:30

Overwatch’s Team USA will be without one of the country’s strongest support players for the upcoming Overwatch World Cup. Elijah “Elk” Gallagher has turned down the opportunity for a tryout with...

South Korea defeats Finland in Overwatch World Cup Qualifier


Jessica Scharnagle Aug 17, 16:36

South Korea secured a win over Finland in of the Overwatch World Cup’s most anticipated qualifying games. While South Korea is the favorite to win it all, the Finnish team looked good going into...

London Spitfire head to OWL grand final


Jessica Scharnagle Jul 18, 13:46

Orange and blue confetti spilled over the Overwatch Arena on Friday, signifying the London Spitfire’s victory over the Los Angeles Valiant and granting the Spitfire a spot in the Overwatch League...